Top Ten Tuesday: Secondary/Minor Characters Who Deserve Their Own Books

Hey everyone! It’s been a while since I wrote a Top Ten Tuesday post. I couldn’t resist today’s prompt so here I am! I tweaked the topic a little bit – instead of writing about secondary characters I love, I wrote about eight secondary characters who deserve their own books!

Walker and Karina from The Player by Kresley Cole
Walker and Karina are very, very minor characters from The Player. Karina is from a family of grifters, while Walker is the father of her baby. They don’t have any relationship because Walker is convinced that Karina played a con on him. I need to know – do they get back together?

Sonny from Under Locke by Mariana Zapata
Sonny is Iris’ amazing big brother, and one of my favorite Mariana Zapata secondary characters. He has such a healthy and supportive relationship with Iris, had a major sub-plot in Under Locke, so I feel like there’s more to explore there. I would love to see him get his own story, and a deserved HEA.


Any of the Kotova Cousins/Siblings from The Failed Audition by Krista and Becca Ritchie
I find it little unfair that all KB Ritchie series basically have a million books each… except the series I read. Lol. There’s still so much to tackle in this world, and I personally would love any book about any of the other Kotova siblings or cousins.


Any Other Vampire Except Bella and Edward from Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
When I read Twilight more than a decade ago, I couldn’t believe that Bella and Edward were the main characters, and not Alice and Jasper, or Rosalie. That feeling only intensified when I read Breaking Dawn and was introduced to all the infinitely more interesting vampires. Who knows – ten years later when Stephenie Meyer is inclined to revisit Twilight, maybe we can get a short novella about some of her more… interesting characters. Heh.

Pasha and Arwen from Silver Silence by Nalini Singh
Pasha and Arwen were introduced in the new Psy-Changeling Trinity series, and they look to be the new couple whose story unfolds slowly over several books. Arwen is an empath while Pasha is a bear lieutenant, and they are just so adorable together! They’re also technically Nalini’s first M/M couple, and I really hope we get a book focused on them in the coming years!


Mags or Finnick or Basically Anyone Except Coriolanus Snow from the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

When The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes was announced, I remember everyone freaking out because there were so many characters that Suzanne Collins could write about. Instead of writing about Mags, or Finnick, or literally anyone else, we got the origin story of President Snow, which no one wanted. Like Stephenie Meyer, if Suzanne Collins revisits the Hunger Games world a decade from now, I’m crossing my fingers that we get a story about a fan favorite instead.


Wood from Sweet Dreams by Kristen Ashley
Kristen Ashley has confirmed many times that Woods’ story is in process, but… I don’t know. I don’t think we’ll be getting it any time soon, especially since Ashley said many times that she’s not ready for all of her OG series to be finished. Woods’ story is especially interesting to me since it’s going to a second chance story with Maggie, and I’m looking forward to see how they ultimately end up together.

Vivek from Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh
Vivek is a hunter-born (like Elena) quadriplegic, an integral part of the Guild, and in the recent books, was made into a vampire. He’s always been a mysterious character, and I would love to know more about him. Vivek getting his own story also means we’ll be one step closer to seeing Elena’s Guard in action.


Did you recognize any of these secondary characters? Who are the characters on your list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Secondary/Minor Characters Who Deserve Their Own Books

  1. It’s been a while since I last read Under Locke but I do remember it being one of my favourite Zapata books and I do remember really liking Sonny, so I wouldn’t be mad at all getting more about him 😂 Great picks!

    Like

Leave a comment